The Constitution of the Socialist Federative Republic of Yugoslavia, April 7, 1963

The Constitution is known under the name "Self-Management Charter" because the self-management model was implemented in all spheres and at all levels of social life. The state was renamed the Socialist Federative Republic of Yugoslavia and defined as a "federal state of voluntarily united and equal peoples and socialist democratic union based on the authority of the working people and self-management. "The territory of Yugoslavia" is integral and is made up of the territories of socialist republics."

Under the 1963 Constitution, the Autonomous Region of Kosovo and Metohija became the Autonomous Province of Kosovo and Metohija. In the development of the Yugoslav federalism, the autonomous units within Serbia essentially had the same position, but there were certain differences between them (name, different number of representatives at the Council of Nationalities, AP Vojvodina had the Supreme Court).

Instead of two, the Federal Assembly was now made up of five houses. In addition to the Federal Council, there were also four self-management councils: economic, educational and cultural, social and health care and organisational and political.

The office of the republic president was separated from that of the president of the Federal Executive Council. It was determined that the president should be elected to a four-year term of office and that the same person could be elected at two consecutive elections. However, "there are no limitations on the election for the position of republic president for Josip Broz Tito."

New institutions were introduced: vice president of the republic, Constitutional Court and Council of the Federation. SIV was made up of the president and a number of members elected by the Federal Council. SIV members were elected from amongst the Assembly members and the attention was paid to their ethnic composition. The principle of rotation was introduced in the leading state and political offices.

The position of social and political organisations (SKJ, SSRNJ) was determined in the political system. The term "social and political communities" denoted municipalities, circuits, autonomous provinces, socialist republics and the federation. Their rights and duties were determined.


List of Constituent Acts of Yugoslavia

© Arhiv Jugoslavije 2008 | designed & produced by MASSVision, powered by cMASS